Wendy's

Contents Find Your Nearest Wendy's

Quality is our Recipe

Black Bean Burger

Now Available in Select Locations

Black Bean burger

Wendy’s doesn’t throw the term ‘burger” around lightly. When customers expressed interest in a meatless meal option, we made sure we could offer a flavorful, fresh, substantive sandwich that deserves to actually be called a burger. We are excited to introduce Wendy’s® new Black Bean Burger.

We’re testing our Black Bean Burger in three markets: Columbus, Ohio; Salt Lake City, Utah; and Columbia, South Carolina. We have chosen our test markets to be representative of the larger United States, and we look forward to hearing customers’ reactions to the Black Bean Burger.

THE BLACK BEAN BURGER'S BUILD

The Black Bean Burger is full of flavor with the harmonious pairing of Southwest spices, grains and vegetables. The burger starts with a custom crafted black bean patty, tender on the inside and slightly crusted on the outside. Along with black beans, the patty is made of peppers, grains, corn, carrots and a blend of spices, like cilantro, garlic and chili pepper. Pepper jack cheese and a tasty parmesan ranch sauce perfectly accompany the sandwich - all served on a toasted multigrain bun featuring nine different grains and seeds including white sesame seeds, red quinoa and rolled oats.

COMMONLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Q: In what markets are you testing the sandwich?

A: Salt Lake City, Utah; Columbus, Ohio; and Columbia, South Carolina.

Q: What are the ingredients in the patty?

A: Some of the main ingredients are: black beans, wild rice, farro, onions, brown rice, carrots, quinoa, corn, green bell peppers and red bell peppers. Sauce and seasonings include ingredients such as red wine vinegar, chili peppers, cumin, sea salt, oregano and cilantro.

Q: How do you cook the black bean patty?

A: We cook the black bean patty in a separate oven so it does not contact the grill where we prepare meat. However, the restaurant as a whole is not vegan or vegetarian so cross contact with other menu items is possible.

Q: Is the Black Bean Burger vegetarian?

A: Yes, the Black Bean Burger is vegetarian.

Q: Is the sandwich vegan if you order it without the sauce or cheese? Or, could I order this sandwich vegan?

A: The ingredients in both the bun and the black bean patty are considered vegan. The cheese and the parmesan ranch sauce are not vegan. At Wendy’s, we make every sandwich to order, so just ask for your sandwich to be prepared without cheese or ranch sauce. Also, we cook the black bean patty in a separate oven so it does not contact the grill where we prepare meat. The restaurant as a whole is not vegan or vegetarian so cross contact with other menu items is possible.

Q: What kind of bun does the Black Bean Burger come with?

A: The Black Bean Burger is served on a toasted multigrain bun featuring nine different grains and seeds including white sesame seeds, red quinoa and rolled oats.

Q: When will the Black Bean Burger be available in my area?

A: We are in the very early stages of testing at this time. We do not have a timeline on when the Black Bean Burger will be available outside our current test markets, but we are closely tracking consumer inquiries.

 

       Standard Build                                          Vegan Build 

       CONTAINS: MILK, EGG, WHEAT             CONTAINS: WHEAT

Standard Nutrition

Vegan Nutrition

Buns are toasted in a common toaster with products that contain Egg, Soy, and Milk.

Nutrition information is based on standard product formulations. Variations may occur due to differences in suppliers, ingredient substitutions, recipe revisions, product assembly at the restaurant level, and/or season of the year. Quality Is Our Recipe, LLC and its franchisees, and Wendy’s International, LLC and its employees, do not assume responsibility for a particular allergy or sensitivity to any food provided in our restaurants. Federal regulations have identified 8 major food allergens: milk, eggs, wheat, soybeans, peanuts, tree nuts, fish and crustacean shellfish. For your convenience, menu items and ingredients that contain these major allergens have been indicated. Assembled in food preparation area where meat and dairy products are present.